South African International Graph Theory Conference

June 18-22, 2001

To be held at Ntshondwe Camp, Ithala Game Reserve, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Hosted by University of Natal

The South African International Graph Theory Conference is to be held during June 18-22, 2001 and is dedicated to Professor Henda C. Swart and Professor Izak Broere, the pioneers of graph theory in South Africa. ntshondwe_camp.jpg (6755 bytes)

The conference will be held at Ntshondwe Camp, Ithala Game Reserve, situated in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa and hosted by the University of Natal. The main goal of the conference is to explore the most recent research in graph theory. The Principal Talks will be scheduled for 25 minutes and contributed talks for 15 minutes.

 gamedrive.jpg (8925 bytes)

Special functions during the week includes a night drive in open safari vehicles, breakfast at the Bird Hide, sundowners overlooking the beautiful Phongola River, a night bush braai (alias ''barbeque'') and a Zulu dancing exhibition.


The Principal Speakers are:
Professor Lowell Beineke, Indiana University-Purdue University, USA
Professor Izak Broere, Rand Afrikaans University, South Africa
Professor Odile Favaron, Universite' Paris-Sud, France
Professor Johan Hattingh, Georgia State University, USA
Professor Martyn Mulder, Erasmus University of Rotterdam, Netherlands
Professor Ortrud R. Oellermann, The University of Winnipeg, Canada
Professor Michael Plummer, Vanderbilt University, USA
Professor Peter J. Slater, The University of Alabama in Huntsville, USA
Professor Henda C. Swart, University of Natal, South Africa

Registration fees:

Registration Fees In US Dollars In Rand
Single $300 R1900
Double rate $250 R1600
Accompanying person $200 R1200

The registration fee includes accomodation at Ntshondwe Camp, all meals during the conference and tea services at breaks.

The registration fee can be paid directly into the following account:

  • Bank: First National Bank (Corporate Branch), South Africa
  • Branch Code: 223626
  • Account Number: 50871932932
  • Swift Code (if needed): FIRNZAJJ

Please fax your deposit slip to (+27) 33 2605648.

We suggest two options of getting to Ithala Game Reserve upon arrival at Johannesburg International Airport (which is about 500km from Ithala Game Reserve). One possibility is to rent a car from Johannesburg International Airport. Alternatively, there will be vans leaving on Monday morning 18th June at 09h30 from the Holiday Inn outside Johannesburg International Airport to take delegates to Ithala Game Reserve (returning on Friday afternoon 22nd June). The cost of the bus trip (return ticket) will be $60 (or R450). More details will be available on the web page towards the end of March.

Closing date for registration: March 15, 2001.

Closing date for submission of titles and abstracts of talk: May 1, 2001.

Academics intending to attend the conference, please complete the form below:

Last Name (max. 50 characters)
First Name (max 50 characters)
Title (max 50 characters)
Affiliation (max 100 characters)
Address (max. 140 characters)
E-mail (max. 80 characters)
Telephone number: (max 50 characters)
Fax: (max. 50 characters)
I wish to attend the conference:
Accompanying spouse:
I wish to give a 15 minutes talk
Title of talk (max 70 characters)
I wish to make use of the organised tranport from Holiday Inn outside Johannesburg International Airport
Payment: Please make your cheque or money order to "University of Natal"
General Registration Fee: (please specify currency - example: $300 or R1900)
Accompanying person(s):
Organised Transport ($60 or R450 per person)


Further enquiries may be directed to

Conference Directors:

Dr. Sheng Bau
Dr. Peter Dankelmann
Professor Wayne Goddard
Professor Michael A. Henning


If replying by mail, please send the completed form (photocopies accepted) to:

Mrs J E Fouche
School of Mathematics, Statistics and Information Technology
University of Natal
Private Bag X01
Scottsville 3209
Tel: 033 260 5647
Fax: 033 2605648

Copyright 2000 [School of Maths, Stats and IT, UNP]. All rights reserved.
Revised: March 15, 2001.